Campbellsville University Concert Band will Present Spring Concert Monday, April 23

By Ashley Sidebottom, staff writer

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – The Campbellsville University Concert Band will present its annual Spring Concert Monday, April 23 at 8 p.m. at Campbellsville Baptist Church. Conductors for the program will be Dr. David McCullough, director of bands, Ms. Jennifer Tinnell, assistant director of bands, and Curtis Bennett, graduate assistant.

This final program of the year for the Concert Band will include some traditional band standards as well as some very recent works for band.

“This program has a great mix of styles that should literally provide something for everyone,” said McCullough.
“The feature piece of the concert will be Cloudburst, a really dramatic and original work by the exciting young composer Eric Whitacre. It is full of descriptive and programmatic elements based on the composer’s frightening encounter with a ferocious California thunderstorm,” McCullough added.

Other program selections include one of the all-time favorite European marches, Inglesina (The Little English Girl); Mark Camphouse’s spectacularly scenic new work, Yosemite Autumn; Gordon Jacob’s legendary transcription The Earle of Oxford’s Marche from William Byrd Suite; and a highly entertaining new transcription of Galop from The Comedians by Dmitri Kabalevsky, featuring xylophone soloist David Keeven.

The Concert Band Spring Concert is free and the public is encouraged to attend. Additional information is available by calling the School of Music office at (270) 789-5237 or McCullough at (270) 789-5058.

Members of the Campbellsville University Concert Band include: Flute/Piccolo: Mary Goff of Louisville, Ky.; Nell Haydon of Springfield, Ky.; Yi-Ni Tsai of Kaohsiung, Taiwan; Savannah Bartley of Burgin, Ky.; Carla Edmonson of Independence, Ky.; Jenny Roy of Russell Springs, Ky.; Megan Parr of Lompoc, Calif.; Mackenzie Roberson of Clarksville, Tenn.; Jesse West of Monticello, Ky.; Amanda Saunders of Owensboro, Ky.; Stephanie Noland of Campbellsville and Meghan Rowland of Wickliffe, Ky.;

Oboe: Yoo-Jin Lee of Seoul, South Korea; Bassoon: Melissa Bleichner of Fairfield, Ohio;

Clarinet: Il Hun Jang of Busan, South Korea; Dana Jones of Morganfield, Ky.; Brittany Wells of Eddyville, Ky.; Kristen Yeager of Mt. Washington, Ky.; Hilary Old of Hopkinsville, Ky.; Katie Thompson of Lufkin, Texas; Sarah Eads of Somerset, Ky.; Amber Jinnett of Hodgenville, Ky.; Alicia Embry of Shepherdsville, Ky.; Katy Cox of Frankfort, Ky.; Rachel Coburn of Madisonville, Ky.; Sara Rowland of Wickliffe; Candace Keith of Crittenden, Ky.; Brittany Judd of Campbellsville and Erica Cameron of Madisonville; Bass Clarinet: Joey Noland of Campbellsville and Ashley Butler of Knightstown, Ind.;

Alto Sax: Patrick Brady of Springfield, Ky.; Matthew Mittelkamp of Troy, Ohio; Donovan Hatfield of Albany, Ky.; Jessica Robbins of Lancaster, Ohio; Tonya Hoagland of Campbellsville and Matt Sudduth of Lawrenceburg, Ky.; Tenor Sax: Josh Wheatley of Louisville; Daniel Barrett of Harrodsburg, Ky. and DeMarcus Compton of Greensburg, Ky.; Baritone Sax: Heather Campbell of Graysville, Pa.;

Trumpet: Daniel Murphy of Bloomfield, Ky.; David Rodgers of Hawesville, Ky.; Matt Bristow of Owensboro; Matt Hodge of Louisville; Alisa Florence of Brownsville, Ky.; Cameron Raulston of La Grange, Ky.; Danielle Stillwell of Elizabethtown, Ky.; Josh Myers of Annville, Ky.; Daniel Emerson of Russell Springs and Amanda Mitchell of Edmonton, Ky.;

Horn: Megan Lenox of Jamestown, Ky.; Bradley Whitehead of Russell Springs; Jennifer Lyons of Elizabethtown; Elizabeth Woods of Crestwood, Ky.; Tiffany Ford of Russell Springs; Tyler Shelton of Burkesville, Ky.; Laura Mann of Mt. Washington and Andrew Kern of Lebanon, Ky.;

Trombone: Zachary Shelton of Burkesville; Steven Smith of Lebanon; Thom Brown of Independence; Seth Hart of Monticello; Warren G. Akers of Campbellsville and Jason Tiller of Russell Springs;

Baritone: E.J. Jones of Campbellsville; Chris Taylor of Madisonville and Cory Barnes of Rineyville, Ky.;

Tuba: Allen Courington of Madisonville; Alison Castle of Philadelphia, Pa.; Wesley England of Russell Springs and Nicole Wilcox of Vine Grove, Ky.;

Percussion: David Keeven of Warsaw, Ind.; Nick Fields of Cincinnati, Ohio; Seth Whitaker of Shelbyville, Ky.; Nathan Willoughby of Mt. Washington; Nathan Wilkerson of Munfordville, Ky.; Grant Nichols of Horse Cave, Ky.; Jacob Stickle of Bowling Green, Ky.; Jack Hedges of Shelbyville; Josh Hensley of Vine Grove; Daniel Druen of Linwood, Ky.; Paige Cress of Somerset and Brittany Wilson of Munfordville.

Campbellsville University, now celebrating her Centennial year, is a private, comprehensive institution located in South Central Kentucky. Founded in 1906, Campbellsville University is affiliated with the Kentucky Baptist Convention and has an enrollment of 2,310 students who represent 100 Kentucky counties, 32 states and 28 foreign nations. Listed in U.S. News & World Report’s “America’s Best Colleges” 14 consecutive years as one of the leading Southern master’s colleges and universities, Campbellsville University is located 82 miles southwest of Lexington, Ky., and 80 miles southeast of Louisville, Ky. Dr. Michael V. Carter is in his eighth year as president.

Chat with us x