Campbellsville University Hires Alston as Physics Professor

By Maegan Kennedy, student news writer

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – Campbellsville University has hired Dr. Steve Alston, of East Grand Forks, Minn., as associate professor of physics, according to Dr. Michael V. Carter, president.

Alston is a 1976 graduate of Fort Hays State University where he received his bachelor of science degree in physics and mathematics. He received his master of science degree and Ph.D. from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Alston has served as the dean of academic affairs at Northland Community and Techincal College in Thief River Falls, Minn., as the dean of the School of Natural and Social Sciences at professor of physics at Wayne State College and as director of academic affairs at Penn State University.

He received the Hayfield Award from Penn State for innovation and outstanding professional performance, the Avery Graduate Fellowship from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, has been a invited participant at NATO Summer School in Maratea, Italy, and participated in the Penn State Leadership Academy.

He has served as a member of the board of directors and executive committee of the East Grand Forks Chamber of Commerce, the Council of Colleges of Arts and Sciences, the Kiwanis International and Wayne Chapter Executive Board and is currently a member of the American Physical Society.

Campbellsville University, now celebrating her Centennial year, is a private, comprehensive institution located in South Central Kentucky. Founded in 1906, Campbellsville University is affiliated with the Kentucky Baptist Convention and has an enrollment of over 2,300 students who represent 95 Kentucky counties, 27 states and 34 foreign nations. Listed in U.S.News & World Report’s “America’s Best Colleges” 14 consecutive years as one of the leading Southern master’s colleges and universities, Campbellsville University is located 82 miles southwest of Lexington, Ky., and 80 miles southeast of Louisville, Ky. Dr. Michael V. Carter is in his eighth year as president.

Chat with us x