Campbellsville University to Present Orchestra Concert April 27

By Joan C. McKinney, director of university communications

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. –The Campbellsville University Orchestra will present its spring concert, under the direction of Dr. J. Robert Gaddis, dean of the School of Music, and graduate students Wan Soo Cho and Nilson Galvão Jr. Thursday, April 26 at 8 p.m. at the Campbellsville Baptist Church sanctuary.

The program includes Symphony # 2, the Romantic Symphony, by Howard Hanson conducted by Gaddis and Galvão. This symphony has been called the “epitome of the Romantic style of music in the twentieth century,” Gaddis said.

Also on the program are Four Scottish Dances by Malcolm Arnold, conducted by Wan Soo Cho, and the Fourth Movement of Symphony # 5 by Ludwig van Beethoven, also conducted by Maestro Cho.

The concert is free and open to the public.

Members of the orchestra include: violin I – Aline Araujo of Brazil, concertmistress; Ju-Eun Kim of Korea; Heidy Ximenes of Brazil; Sung-Man Lee of Korea; and Fabricio Soares of Brazil;

Violin II – Diogo Pimentel of Brazil; Li-Hao Chiang of Taiwan ; Elizabeth Trieu of Louisville, Ky.; Courtney Gilbert of Hodgenville, Ky.; Ben Probus of Buffalo, Ky.; Erin Johnson of Russellville, Ky.; Jason Cormier of Elizabethtown, Ky.; Antonio Wu and Francisca Wu, both of Taiwan;

Viola – Nilzeth Santos of Brazil; Wan Soo Cho of Korea; Denis Santos of Brazil; Sara Rangel of Brazil; Roger Noel Davis of Campbellsville; Sarah Gilbert of Hodgenville; and Jessica Lee Smith of Mayfield, Ky.;

Cello – Nilson Galvão Jr. of Brazil; Saulo Almeida of Brazil, Adrienne Gilbert of Hodgenville, and Felix Borges of Brazil;

Double bass – Julie Caldwell of Campbellsville; Jonathan Chaudoin of Louisville, Ky., and Jezimar Norberto of Springfield, Ky., formerly of Brazil;

Flute – Nell Haydon of Springfield, Ky.; Sarah Norberto of Springfield, Ky.; and Cheng-I Wu of Taiwan;

Oboe – Yoo-Jin Lee of Bowling Green, Ky., and Jeff Parks of Dayton, Ohio;

English horn – Jennifer Grice of Campbellsville; clarinet – Il-Hun Jang of South Korea; and Dana Jones of Sturgis, Ky.;

Bassoon – Dana Etherington of Versailles, Ky.; and Hyo-Jin Kim of Korea; Horn – Megan Lenox of Campbellsville; Bradley Whitehead of Russell Springs, Ky.; Dr. David McCullough of Campbellsville; and Joni Farmer of Campbellsville ;

Trumpet – Curtis Bennett of Buffalo, Ky.; John Lenox of Campbellsville; and Daniel Murphy of Bloomfield, Ky.; trombone – Zach Shelton of Burkesville, Ky.; Steven Smith of Lebanon, Ky.; and Seth Hart of Monticello, Ky.;

Tuba – Al Courington of Campbellsville; percussion – Kyle Duke of Russell Springs; Daniel Druen of Munfordville, Ky.; Matt Moore of Campbellsville; and Cory Barnes of Rineyville, Ky.; and piano – Pei-Fen Lin of Taiwan.

For more information, contact the School of Music at (270) 789-5237.

Campbellsville University, now celebrating her Centennial year, is a private, comprehensive institution located in South Central Kentucky. Founded in 1906, Campbellsville University is affiliated with the Kentucky Baptist Convention and has an enrollment of 2,310 students who represent 100 Kentucky counties, 32 states and 28 foreign nations. Listed in U.S. News & World Report’s “America’s Best Colleges” 14 consecutive years as one of the leading Southern master’s colleges and universities, Campbellsville University is located 82 miles southwest of Lexington, Ky., and 80 miles southeast of Louisville, Ky. Dr. Michael V. Carter is in his eighth year as president.

Chat with us x