CU Chamber Choir to Perform Nov. 18 at First United Methodist Church

By Joan C. McKinney, news and publications coordinator

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – The Chamber Choir of Campbellsville University School of Music will present a concert of music by Johann Sebastian Bach at 8 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 18.

The program will feature the choral motet, “Jesu, Priceless Treasure,”

along with several smaller works for voice and instruments. The program is in the sanctuary of First United Methodist Church. The event is free and open to the public.

Dr. Frieda Gebert, associate professor of music (vocal/choral), is the director. HaNa Park of Korea is the accompanist; Seth Johnson of Leitchfield, Ky., plays cello; WanSoo of Korea plays viola and Sung- Man Lee and Ju-Eun Kim, both of Korea, play violin.

Members of the Chamber Choir include: Phillip Brann, Jamaal Stiles, Jesse West, Chanelle Gardner and E.J. Pavy, all of Campbellsville; Clint Warf of Greensburg, Ky.; Carmen Drake of Hodgenville, Ky.;

Megan Massey and Heather Dobbs, both of Science Hill, Ky.; Anna Troth of Frankfort, Ky.; MaryGrace Lee of Ponchatoula, La.; Erin Johnson of Russellville, Ky.; Brittany Hall of Lawrenceburg, Ky.; Melody Hall of Rockfield, Ky.; Sarah Smith of Brandenburg, Ky.; and Rachel Morrison of Crestwood, Ky.

The concert is free and open to the public. For more information, contact the School of Music at (270) 789-5237.

Campbellsville University is a private, comprehensive institution located in South Central Kentucky. Founded in 1906, Campbellsville University is affiliated with the Kentucky Baptist Convention and has an enrollment of 2,601 students who represent 93 Kentucky counties, 27 states and 31 foreign nations. Listed in U.S.News & World Report’s 2009 “America’s Best Colleges,” CU is ranked 22nd in “Best Baccalaureate Colleges” in the South for the second consecutive year. CU has been ranked 16 consecutive years with U.S.News & World Report. The university has also been named to America’s Best Christian Colleges®. Campbellsville University is located 82 miles southwest of Lexington, Ky., and 80 miles southeast of Louisville, Ky. Dr. Michael V. Carter is in his tenth year as president.

Chat with us x