Tag: Dr. Joseph “Joe” Hopkins

Hopkins begins as 12th president of Campbellsville University

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. — A new era began at Campbellsville University Feb. 1 when Dr. Joseph Hopkins became the university’s 12th president.

Hopkins’ day began at 7:15 a.m. in Ransdell Chapel as he met with his President’s Cabinet, Campbellsville University’s Board of Trustees and School of Theology Dean Dr. John Hurtgen, in a time of focused prayer for this new administration and the future of CU.

A video message was sent to all employees and students at 7:54 a.m. expressing his pride at being a part of the Tiger team and thanking Dr. H. Keith Spears, and the cabinet, for exemplary leadership.

Hopkins said, “If you want to finish well, you need to start well.”

Campbellsville University Board of Trustees selects Samford University dean as 12th president of Campbellsville University

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – Dr. Joseph “Joe” Hopkins, dean of the School of Arts at Samford University, has been elected 12th president in the 115 years of Campbellsville University effective Feb. 1, 2022.

Campbellsville University’s Board of Trustees voted to elect Hopkins earlier in the afternoon, and the Campbellsville University employees, staff and students will meet the president-elect Tuesday, Nov. 9 in a special called meeting in Ransdell Chapel.

Hopkins was recommended to the Board of Trustees by the Presidential Search Committee chaired by Dr. Larry Noe, who has served on the board since 1994 and as chair from 1999 to 2001. The nation-wide search was conducted with the support of ZRG Partners executive search firm.

Chat with us x