Campbellsville University to graduate first class of master of social work students

May 4, 2010
For Immediate Release

By Joan C. McKinney, news and publications coordinator

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – Campbellsville University’s graduate commencement Friday, May 7 will feature the first master’s of social work students from the Carver School of Social Work and Counseling.

Fifteen students will receive the master of social work degree since the Carver School of Social Work relocated from The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary to Campbellsville University in 1998.

There have been numerous bachelor’s graduates in social work throughout the years, but Campbellsville University President Michael V. Carter said the graduation of the first MSW graduates is to be noted and is of historic significance.

“From the beginning, our approach has been to mature the undergraduate program and do it well and then move to the graduate counseling degree, and the MSW itself,” he said.

“We are proud of this accomplishment and relish the reputation and history of the Carver School of Social Work.
“We have a growing number of Carver School of Social Work alumni from Campbellsville University who are highly respected and caring Christian professionals across the Commonwealth of Kentucky and beyond,” he said.

Dr. Darlene Eastridge, dean of the Carver School of Social Work and Counseling, will give the commencement address at the ceremony at 7 p.m. EDT in the Ransdell Chapel at 401 N. Hoskins Ave., Campbellsville.

Also, at the graduate ceremony, Dr. Ken Winters, a member of the Kentucky State Senate representing the first district and who is president emeritus of Campbellsville University, will be presented with the Campbellsville University Leadership Award.

On Saturday, May 8, Campbellsville University’s undergraduate commencement will feature Dr. Ron Lewis, former United States Representative who serves on the CU Board of Trustees.

The ceremony begins at 9 a.m. EDT in Powell Athletic Center at 203 Tiger Way, Campbellsville.

Campbellsville University will also graduate her first member of the Reserve Officers Training Corps, Jairus Robert York Murton of Campbellsville, who will take the United States Army Oath of Commission. The ROTC is in partnership with Western Kentucky University.

Campbellsville University will graduate 472 students in 2009-10 upon completion of all stated requirements for graduation. For May’s commencements, there are 315 students who will receive associate’s, bachelor’s or master’s degrees.

Campbellsville University is a private, comprehensive institution located in South Central Kentucky. Founded in 1906, Campbellsville University is affiliated with the Kentucky Baptist Convention and has an enrollment of 3,006 students who represent 97 Kentucky counties, 30 states and 37 foreign nations. Listed in U.S.News & World Report’s 2010 “America’s Best Colleges,” CU is ranked 23rd in “Best Baccalaureate Colleges” in the South, tied for fifth in “most international students” and fourth in “up-and-coming” schools in baccalaureate colleges in the South. CU has been ranked 17 consecutive years with U.S.News & World Report. The university has also been named to America’s Best Christian Colleges® and to G.I. Jobs magazine as a Military Friendly School. Campbellsville University is located 82 miles southwest of Lexington, Ky., and 80 miles southeast of Louisville, Ky. Dr. Michael V. Carter is in his 11th year as president.

Campbellsville University Graduate Commencement
Date: Friday, May 7, 2010
Time: 7 p.m. EDT
Location: Ransdell Chapel, 401 N. Hoskins Ave., Campbellsville, Ky.
Commencement Speaker: Dr. Darlene Eastridge, dean of the Carver School of Social Work and Counseling at Campbellsville University
Honorary degrees to be awarded: None, but The Honorable Dr. Ken Winters, Kentucky State Senate, First District, President Emeritus, Campbellsville University will receive the Campbellsville University Leadership Award
Estimated # of expected grads (if known): 120 for May/July graduate candidates and 61 for December graduate candidates with total of 472 graduates for 2009-10 academic year

Campbellsville University Undergraduate Commencement
Date: Saturday, May 8, 2010
Time: 9 a.m. EDT
Location: Powell Athletic Center, 203 Tiger Way
Commencement Speaker: The Honorable Dr. Ron Lewis, former U.S. Representative, Second District Kentucky, Member, Board of Trustees
Honorary degrees to be awarded: None, but the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards will be given to Dr. Ron Lewis and Kristi Diane Ensminger of Kingston Springs, Tenn.
Estimated # of expected grads (if known): 195 for May/July undergraduate candidates and 96 for December undergraduate candidates with a total of 472 graduates for 2009-10 academic year

Chat with us x