Click here for most recent updates




Campbellsville University School of Education holds hooding and pinning ceremony


Campbellsville University School of Education holds hooding and pinning ceremony
From left are: Front row — Susan Blevins, Dr. Valerie Flanagan, Dr. Robin Magruder, Amber Wolf, Ashlyn Flock, Olivia Weeks, Makayla Turner, Hayley Hall, Felicia Swift, Althea Tango, Maggie Murphy, Katrina Smith, Julianne Palmer and Patty Arms. Second row — Dr. Seneca Rodriguez, assistant professor of education; Dr. Dottie Davis, Audrey Downs, Hannah DeForrest, Ashley Harrod, Shelby Mings, Karla Burden, Charles Dreitzler, Ashley Lee, Wilando Bridgewater and Timothy Fulks. Third row — Rita Curtis, instructor in education; Dr. Jeffrey Herron, assistant professor of education; Deborah Holt, IECE instructor; Dr. Chuck Hamilton, Dr. Lisa Allen, Dr. Elisha Lawrence, assistant professor and assistant assessment chair; and Dr. Lisa Fulks, associate professor of education and special education. Back row — Dr. Marilyn Goodwin, assistant chair of early childhood and associate professor; Julie Rice, instructor of early childhood education; Susan Burress, instructor in special education; Dr. Joseph Wallace, associate professor of education; Dr. Ellen Hamilton-Ford, assistant professor of early childhood education; and Donald Cheatham, assistant professor of education/CIS. (CU Photo by Whitley Howlett)

By Scarlett Birge, student news writer, Office of University Communications

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – The Campbellsville University School of Education held its annual hooding and pinning ceremony to recognize the achievement of the students receiving their undergraduate degrees or master’s degrees. The event took place at Dec. 6 at Campbellsville Baptist Church.

This ceremony has been celebrated since 2011 when the leadership of Kappa Delta Pi, an international honor education society, approached the School of Education dean and requested consideration for such an event. A formal presentation of the recommendation was made and approved by the School of Education faculty and supported by the administration.

“We are here for a purpose,” Amber Wolf of Shepherdsville, Ky. said as she addressed her fellow graduates. Wolf said being placed in classrooms to be impactful upon students’ lives is a goal in her journey of teaching. “Throughout my time at CU, I’ve grown more than I ever thought,” she said.

Musical arrangements of “My Old Kentucky Home” and “How Great Thou Art” were performed by Noah Konsavage of Columbia, Ky. and Alexia Trumbo of Hodgenville, Ky. as well as Susan Blevins, assistant professor of education, who was the pianist at the ceremony.

Dr. Donna Hedgepath, provost and vice president for academic affairs, gave the invocation before Dr. Robin Magruder, undergraduate chair and associate professor of education; Dr. Sharon Hundley, associate professor and chair of early childhood education; Dr. Dottie Davis, associate professor of education; and Dr. Chuck Hamilton, associate professor of education and student teacher coordinator, presented the candidates with their pins.

Dr. Valerie Flanagan, graduate chair and assistant professor of education, presented those receiving their masters with their hoods, and Dr. Lisa Allen, dean of the School of Education and associate professor of education, presented certificates of recognition.

Candidates for pinning were as follows:

Early Childhood Education – Hannah DeForrest of Ekron, Ky. and Katrina Smith of Louisville, Ky.;

Interdisciplinary Early Childhood Education – Audrey Downs of Loretto, Ky. and Felicia Swift of Caneyville, Ky.;

P-5, Elementary Education – Hayley Hall of Campbellsville, Ky.; Makayla Turner of Campbellsville, Ky., member of Kappa Delta Pi (KDP), international education honor society, open to those who maintain a 3.5 grade point average and demonstrate leadership; and Olivia Weeks of Campbellsville, Ky., also a member of KDP;

5-9, Middle Grades Education – Ashlyn Flock of Charleston, Tenn. and Amber Wolf of Shepherdsville, Ky.

Hooding candidates were as follows:

Teacher Leader Master of Arts in Education – Caroline Combs of Jeffersonville, Ky.; James Hughes of Lebanon, Ky.; Alan Montgomery of Corydon, Ind.; Julianne Palmer of Louisville, Ky.; Shonessi Pugh of Louisville, Ky.; and Jasmine Thornton of Louisville, Ky.;

Master of Arts in School Improvement – Ryan Borkowski of Independence, Ky.; Megan Covarrubias of Bowling Green, Ky.; Amanda Dennison of Horse Cave, Ky.; Misha Hall of Letcher, Ky.; Carrie-Anne Irby of Shelbyville, Ky.; Holly Smith of Lawrenceburg, Ky.; Ellen Stevens of Lawrenceburg, Ky.; and Hannah Watts of Russell Springs, Ky.;

Master of Arts in Special Education – Karla Burden of Richland, Ind.; Samantha Dorwart of Louisville, Ky.; Timothy Fulks of Louisville, Ky., KDP member; Brandon Johnson of Elizabethtown, Ky.; Ashley Lee of Louisville, Ky., KDP.; and Craig Smith of Nicholasville, Ky.;

Teacher Leader Master of Arts in Special Education – Wilando Bridgewater of Campbellsville, Ky.; Kara Caldwell of Falmouth, Ky.; William Edwards of Highland Heights, Ky.; Telana Jones of Louisville, Ky.; Tara Karr of Louisville, Ky.; Victoria Shouse-Neace of Lost Creek, Ky.; and Kellie Stull of Brandenburg, Ky.;

Master of Arts in Teaching – Patty Arms of Burkesville, Ky.; Charles Dreitzler of Brandenburg, Ky.; Ashley Harrod of Columbia, Ky.; Maggie Murphy of Tompkinsville, Ky.; Althea Tangco of Louisville, Ky.; and Victoria Wright of Shepherdsville, Ky.;

Master of Arts in Educational Administration – Ashley Gates of Somerset, Ky. and Joshua Gupton of Greensburg, Ky.;

Master of Arts in School Guidance Counseling – Amy Bundy of Louisville, Ky.; Rachel Dunn of Somerset, Ky.; Rebecca Hedgespeth of Greensburg, Ky.; Shelby Mings of Shelbyville, Ky.; Ariane Mondell of Louisville, Ky.; Kristin Simon of Union, Ky.; and Ann-Michael Tucker of Greensburg, Ky.

Recognized for having met or exceeded 300 clinical hours were Hannah DeForrest, Audrey Downs, Felicia Swift, Makayla Turner and Olivia Weeks. Receiving a certificate of academic achievement for scoring a 90 percent or higher on subject assessments and/or Principles of Learning and Teaching were Felicia Swift, Makayla Turner, Olivia Weeks, Ashlyn Flock and Amber Wolf.

Dr. Carol Garrison, assessment chair and professor of education, gave the benediction.

For more photos visit University is a widely acclaimed Kentucky-based Christian university with more than 14,000 students offering over 100 programs of study including Ph.D., master, baccalaureate, associate, pre-professional and certification programs. The university has Kentucky based off-campus centers in Louisville, Harrodsburg, Somerset, Hodgenville and Liberty with instructional sites in Elizabethtown, Owensboro and Summersville. Out-of-state centers include two in California at Los Angeles and Lathrop, located in the San Francisco Bay region. The website for complete information is

Campbellsville University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates, associate, baccalaureate, masters and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the status of Campbellsville University.