Main campus lockdown is no longer in effect: 2/24/24, 6:00pm




Campbellsville University to present ‘The Holiday Channel Christmas Movie Wonderthon’ Dec. 9-12

By Joan C. McKinney, director, Office of University Communications

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – Campbellsville University is showing us a time for the traditions we cherish during Christmas.

Campbellsville University’s Theater Department, Town Hall Productions and Heritage Children Services present “The Holiday Channel Christmas Movie Wonderthon” Dec. 9-12 in the Russ Mobley Theater in the Alumni Building at 114 University Drive, Campbellsville.

With “The Holiday Channel Christmas Movie Wonderthon” you can enjoy a time for magic, traditions and a time to watch as many original TV movies as any human being can possibly endure by viewing the sugar rush of six Christmas movies all at once.

A snyposis of the play welcomes everyone to Hopewood Falls, Vt., where “singles in adorable sweaters converge to look for love.”

“Can disguises help royalty and/or movie stars find the down-to-earth connections they crave? Will evil city slickers destroy charming inns and/or Christmas tree farms? Isn’t it a little creepy for a meet-cute to depend on one person being in a coma?

“Grab a hot chocolate and your favorite wise single friend to find out in this wildly entertaining parody of holiday rom-coms,” according to the synopsis.

The show will be presented at 7 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 9; Friday, Dec. 10 and Saturday, Dec. 11; and at 2:30 p.m. on Sunday, Dec. 12.

The cast list includes: Lauren Phillips, a junior from Campbellsville, Ky., as Narrator 1; Kelli Stanfield, a 2006 and 2010 graduate of Campbellsville University from Campbellsville, as Narrator 2; Emma Kait Grider, a sophomore of Columbia, Ky., as Holly;

Gavin Johnson, a sophomore from Campbellsville, as Brett; Holly Jo Evans, a senior from Cannon, Ky., as Joy; Gabe Taylor, a junior from Fisherville, Ky., as Paul; Abigail Tollison, a junior from Glasgow, Ky., as Carol;

Gehrig Mickels, a sophomore from Lapel, Ind., as Jackson; Malorie Byrne of Campbellsville, who attended Campbellsville University in 2017, as Merry; Colin Harris, a freshman from Campbellsville, as Blake; Lacy Numbela from Lebanon, Ky., as Noelle; Rae Church of Campbellsville, who attended Campbellsville University in 2016, as Noelle Understudy;

Eric Smith, director of information technology at Campbellsville University, as Kris; Spencer Ingram, a sophomore of Mt. Eden, Ky., as Sven; Priscilla Wilson, a freshman from Lebanon, Ky., as Rita;

Ryan Welch, a junior from Frankfort, Ky., as Laertes; Sinjin Fuchs, a sophomore from Eubank, Ky., as Jimmy/TSA Agent; Malarie Drake, a freshmen from Bowling Green, Ky., as Bridgette; and Morgan Rayhill, a senior from Shepherdsville, Ky., as Bridgette Understudy.

Alia McClendon, community theater manager, is the director of the play. Starr Garrett, theater director and professor of theater, is technical director; Matt Nall, technical director, set construction/scenic paint; Gavin Ballard, a freshman from Bardstown, Ky., stage manager, and Andrew Ward, producer, owner of Town Hall Productions.

Ticket prices are $10 for general admission; $7 for seniors (65 and up); and $7 for children (12 and under).

Ticket link is at :

Corporate sponsors are: Community Trust Bank, Tucker Family Medicine and Papa John’s.

Corporate sponsors, ad purchasers, and cast/crew members need to call the box office to reserve their complementary/discounted tickets.

Wheelchair accessible seating is available. Contact the box office at (270) 789-5266 prior to purchasing tickets if you need wheelchair seating.

Online tickets sales end at noon the day of the presentation. From that point, tickets can be reserved at (270) 789-5266 or purchased at the door while supplies last. For any other needed information, call the same number.

The theater will be abiding by the campus safety policy. Masks will be required indoors.

Campbellsville University is a widely acclaimed Kentucky-based Christian university with more than 12,000 students offering over 100 programs of study including Ph.D., master, baccalaureate, associate, pre-professional and certification programs. The website for complete information is