Click here for most recent updates




CU to present ‘The Wizard of Oz Jr.’ June 9-11

June 7, 2017
For Immediate Release

From left are Isaac Rogers, Hannah Hansford, Riley Phillips, Gavin Johnson and Jacob Hayes.

The main characters of “Wizard of Oz Jr.” sing during rehearsal. From left are Isaac Rogers as Tin Man, Hannah Hansford as Toto, Riley Phillips as Dorothy, Gavin Johnson as Scarecrow and Jacob Hayes as Lion. (Campbellsville University Photo by Ariel Emberton).

By Joan C. McKinney, director, Office of University Communications

CAMPBELLSVILLE, Ky. – Campbellsville University’s Department of Theater, Town Hall Productions and the Taylor County Public Library present “The Wizard of Oz Jr.” June 9-11 in the Russ Mobley Theater, 114 University Drive, Campbellsville.

The play is based on the Frank Baum novel and classic movie musical.

Show times are Friday, June 9 at 7 p.m., Saturday, June 10 at 7 p.m. and Sunday, June 11 at 2:30 p.m. General admission is $7 and seniors (65-70), children (12-under) and Campbellsville University students and employees are $5.

Tickets are available at or call (270) 789-5266.

Corporate sponsors for the play are Air Evac Life Team, Squires & Lee, Colton’s Steakhouse, Little Caesar’s Pizza and Brothers BBQ.

The cast includes over 50 students from the following school systems: Campbellsville Elementary School, Campbellsville Middle School, Campbellsville High School, Green County Intermediate School, Hodgenville Elementary, Kentucky Christian Academy, Curry Academy (home-schooled), Garrett Academy (home-schooled), Lebanon Middle School, Olmstead South Academy, St. Augustine School, Taylor County Elementary, Taylor County Middle School, Taylor County High School, Taylor County Primary Center, Westview Middle School in Morristown, Tenn., and other home-schools.

The cast includes: Riley Phillips, Taylor County Middle School, Dorothy; Alexandra Curry, Curry Academy, Wicked Witch/Miss Gulch; Hannah Hansford, home-schooled, Toto; Gavin Johnson, Campbellsville High School, Scarecrow/Hunk; Isaac Rogers, Taylor County Middle School, Tin Man/Hickory; Jacob Hayes, Taylor County Middle School, Lion/Zeke; Gracyne Hash, Campbellsville High School, Glinda;

Jace Estes, Kentucky Christian Academy, Wizard/Oz Voice/Professor Marvel; Sophie McAnelly, Taylor County Middle School, Aunt Em/Emerald City Chorus; Andrew Pike, Taylor County Middle School, Uncle Henry/Emerald City Chorus/Winkie; Savannah Mejean, Optimistic Voice/Emerald City Chorus, Winkie Leader;

Alissa Hughes, Hodgenville, Optimistic Voice/Emerald City Chorus, Winkie; Abigail Blakeman, Taylor County Elementary School, Optimistic Voice/Emerald City Chorus, Winkie; Raechel Smith, Taylor County High School, Optimistic Voice/Emerald City Chorus, Winkie;

Reese Estes, Kentucky Christian Academy, Optimistic Voice/Emerald City Chorus, Winkie; Luke Hesson, Kentucky Christian Academy, Doorman/Emerald City Chorus, Winkie; Morgan Schooling, Lebanon Middle School, Guard/Emerald City Chorus/Winkie;

Creed Dudgeon, Taylor County Elementary School, Apple Tree #1/Scary Tree; Samantha Hesson, Kentucky Christian Academy, Apple Tree #2/Scary Tree; Kaylee Neely, Taylor County Middle School, Apple Tree #3/Scary Tree; Meghan Squires, Taylor County Middle School, House Piece, Apple Tree/Scary Tree;

Zeke Harris, Campbellsville Middle School, Rowboat #1, Apple Tree/Scary Tree; Katie England, Olmstead South Academy, Rowboat #2, Apple Tree/Scary Tree; Emily Mejean, Cow (cut out), Apple Tree/Scary Tree; Aubrey Young, Campbellsville Middle School, Woman in Rocking Chair, Apple Tree/Scary Tree;

Jessica Minix, Westview Middle School, House Piece, Apple Tree/Scary Tree; Tranquility Frakowicz, home-schooled, House Piece, Nikko; Griffin Hansford, home-schooled, Munchkin, Winged Monkey; Jackson Hays, Taylor County Elementary School, Munchkin #4, Winged Monkey; Kate Billeter, Campbellsville Middle School, Munchkin;

Riley Robison, Taylor County Primary Center, Munchkin; Eden Dudgeon, Kentucky Christian Academy, Munchkin; Hope Hansford, home-schooled, Munchkin; Chloe McFarland, Taylor County Primary Center, Munchkin; Leah Smith, Taylor County Elementary School, Munchkin; Everest Garrett, Garrett Academy, Munchkin, Cat; Aliana Frankowicz, home-schooled, Munchkin #1;

Claudia Garner, Green County Intermediate School, Munchkin #2; Maryn Ward, Taylor County Elementary School, Munchkin #3; Anaia Frankowicz, home-schooled, Munchkin: City Father #1; Aiden Willis, Taylor County Elementary School, Munchkin: City Father #2; Austin Hughes, Hodgenville Elementary School, Munchkin: City Father #3;

Sophia Hayes, Taylor County Elementary School, Munchkin: Mayor; Juliana Dixon, St. Augustine School, Munchkin: Barrister; Case Baker, Green County Intermediate School, Munchkin: Coroner; Sailor Wilson, Taylor County Elementary School, Munchkin: Woman; Nora Harris, Campbellsville Elementary School, Lullaby League, Crow, Jitterbug;

Anna Smith, Taylor County Elementary School, Lullaby League, Crow, Jitterbug; Elli Wilson, home-schooled, Lullaby League, Crow, Jitterbug; Rachel Henderson, Green County Intermediate School, Lullaby League, Crow, Jitterbug; Bailey Litton, Hodgenville Elementary School, Lollipop Guild, Crow, Jitterbug; Joey Blair, St. Augustine School, Lollipop Guild, Crow, Jitterbug; and Claire Goff, Kentucky Christian Academy, Lollipop Guild, Crow, Jitterbug.

Vanessa Davis of Lexington is director of the play, with Sarah Durham and Alia McClendon, both of Campbellsville, as assistant director. Starr Garrett, director of Campbellsville University’s theater, is technical director.

Music director is Cyndi Chadwick of Campbellsville. Singrid Jennings of Campbellsville is choreographer, and Andrew Ward of Campbellsville is producer.

Matt Nall of Campbellsville, who is assistant to the director of theater at Campbellsville University, is in charge of set construction.

Junior assistants are Malorie Byrne and Lauren Phillips, both of Campbellsville, and Dr. Candace Hansford, professor of social work at Campbellsville University, is camp assistant.

Campbellsville University is a widely-acclaimed Kentucky-based Christian university with more than 5,000 students offering over 80 programs of study including 19 master’s degrees, six postgraduate areas and seven pre-professional programs. The university has off-campus centers in Louisville, Harrodsburg, Somerset and Hodgenville with instructional sites in Elizabethtown, Owensboro and Summersville and a full complement of online programs. The website for complete information is